Fancy-looking fully-connected graph, with Innovation Co-Lab roots/ text next to it

The Front Door to the Innovation Co-Lab.

We’re building a training program into the Innovation Co-Lab, where students, faculty or staff of any skill and confidence level can comfortably start to gain an understanding of how to make use of a variety of tools and technologies.  The goal here is not to make you an expert — we know that takes time — but to help you get to the point where you’re excited and confident about starting your own project or continuing your education.  We’ll be offering workshops in topics like HTML, CSS, JavaScript, Python, research computing, 3D modeling and fabrication, and many more.  All classes are free — just enroll below.

If you’ve got an idea for a topic we’re not covering, or if you’re an expert in a topic you’d like to teach, let us know.

Upcoming classes

Looks like we don't have any upcoming classes. Check back soon!

Archived Classes

  • Introduction to Linux - Mon, Aug 31, 2015
  • Introduction to Front-End Web Development: HTML, CSS and a bit of Javascript - Mon, Sep 7, 2015
  • Good Karma through Web Accessibility - Thu, Sep 17, 2015
  • TypeScript - Mon, Sep 21, 2015
  • Digital Modeling and Fabrication: 3d Printers, Lasers, Shopbots! - Mon, Sep 28, 2015
  • Increase Coder Sanity by using Git for Version Control - Mon, Oct 5, 2015
  • Building iOS Apps with Swift - Sat, Oct 17, 2015
  • Using Online Data with Python - Mon, Oct 19, 2015
  • Introduction to Front-End Web Development: HTML, CSS and a bit of Javascript - Sat, Oct 24, 2015
  • Building iOS Apps with Swift - Tue, Oct 27, 2015
  • Introduction to Connected Hardware - Wed, Nov 4, 2015
  • Introduction to Connected Hardware - Thu, Nov 5, 2015
  • Webserver Administration for Webapp Developers - Mon, Nov 9, 2015
  • What You Don't Know Can Hurt You: UX Essentials for The Web - Mon, Nov 16, 2015
  • Introduction to Linux - Tue, Jan 26, 2016
  • Introduction to Front-End Dev: HTML & CSS - Wed, Jan 27, 2016
  • A Little More Advanced Linux - Mon, Feb 1, 2016
  • Ruby on Rails Workshop - Mon, Feb 1, 2016
  • Introduction to Front-End Dev: Javascript - Wed, Feb 3, 2016
  • Rapid Prototyping with Lasers and CNC - Thu, Feb 11, 2016
  • iOS 1: Intro to Swift and iOS Development - Thu, Feb 11, 2016
  • iOS 2: Data Processing in Swift - Thu, Feb 18, 2016
  • 3D Printing and Sketchup - Mon, Feb 22, 2016
  • Rapid Prototyping with Lasers and CNC - Wed, Feb 24, 2016
  • Using Git for Version Control - Wed, Feb 24, 2016
  • Python Workshop - Mon, Feb 29, 2016
  • Introduction to Connected Hardware with Photon - Mon, Mar 28, 2016
  • Introduction to Connected Hardware with Photon - Wed, Mar 30, 2016
  • iOS 1: Intro to Swift and iOS Development - Thu, Mar 31, 2016
  • iOS 2: Data Processing in Swift - Mon, Apr 4, 2016
  • Using Git for Version Control - Thu, Apr 7, 2016
  • 3D Printing and Sketchup - Mon, Apr 11, 2016
  • HFOSS: Code for Good - Wed, Sep 7, 2016
  • React - Mon, Sep 12, 2016
  • Intro to Git - Wed, Sep 14, 2016
  • Introduction to Linux - Tue, Sep 20, 2016
  • Open Data & Civic Hacking - Wed, Sep 21, 2016
  • A Little More Advanced Linux - Tue, Sep 27, 2016
  • Intro to APIs - Mon, Oct 3, 2016
  • Foundations in HTML, CSS, and Javascript: Flipped Roots Class - Tue, Oct 4, 2016
  • SPLUNK - Thu, Oct 13, 2016
  • Introduction to Ethical Hacking - Mon, Oct 17, 2016
  • MySQL - Mon, Oct 24, 2016
  • Intro to Angular 2 - Wed, Nov 2, 2016
  • Fusion 360 - Tue, Nov 8, 2016
  • Make Art with Lasers: Adobe Illustrator and Laser Cutting - Wed, Nov 9, 2016
  • Duke Compute Cluster workshop - Thu, Nov 10, 2016
  • Introduction to iOS - Thu, Nov 10, 2016
  • WebDev - Introduction to HTML and CSS - Mon, Nov 14, 2016
  • WebDev - Introduction to JavaScript - Mon, Nov 21, 2016
  • WebDev - Introduction to HTML and CSS - Wed, Jan 25, 2017
  • Get a Job in Tech - Fri, Jan 27, 2017
  • WebDev - Introduction to JavaScript - Wed, Feb 1, 2017
  • The Art of the Pitch Video - Fri, Feb 3, 2017
  • Programming Fundamentals - Mon, Feb 6, 2017
  • Intro to Git - Mon, Feb 13, 2017
  • Introduction to Linux - Tue, Feb 14, 2017
  • Using the Co-Lab APIs - Fri, Feb 17, 2017
  • Git to Deploy - Thu, Feb 23, 2017
  • Advanced CSS - Fri, Feb 24, 2017
  • Intro to Swift and iOS Development - Thu, Mar 2, 2017
  • Intro to APIs - Tue, Mar 21, 2017
  • WebDev - Introduction to HTML and CSS - Fri, Mar 24, 2017
  • A Little More Advanced Linux - Mon, Mar 27, 2017
  • Foundations in HTML, CSS, and Javascript: Flipped Roots Class - Tue, Mar 28, 2017
  • MPS Sessions: Intro to Maya - Tue, Mar 28, 2017
  • WebDev - Introduction to JavaScript - Wed, Mar 29, 2017
  • Building Reactive Web Apps - Thu, Mar 30, 2017
  • Ethical Hacking Workshop - Fri, Mar 31, 2017
  • Programming Fundamentals - Mon, Apr 3, 2017
  • Intro to Angular 2 - Tue, Apr 4, 2017
  • MPS Sessions: Intro to Davinci Resolve - Tue, Apr 4, 2017
  • MySQL - Wed, Apr 5, 2017
  • Conductive Thread - Fri, Apr 7, 2017
  • Introduction to Connected Hardware - Mon, Apr 10, 2017
  • Intro to Git - Mon, Apr 10, 2017
  • Test - HTML - Mon, May 22, 2017
  • Intro to Git - Wed, Sep 6, 2017
  • Gitlab-CI and Singularity -- Hands-on workshop for containerizing research software - Thu, Sep 7, 2017
  • WebDev - Introduction to HTML and CSS - Mon, Sep 11, 2017
  • WebDev - Introduction to JavaScript - Mon, Sep 18, 2017
  • Introduction to Linux - Tue, Sep 19, 2017
  • Introduction to Connected Hardware - Tue, Sep 19, 2017
  • Fusion360: 3d Modeling for 3d Printing - Wed, Sep 20, 2017
  • Programming Fundamentals - Mon, Sep 25, 2017
  • MySQL - Mon, Oct 2, 2017
  • Creative Coding with P5.js - Tue, Oct 3, 2017
  • Selling Your Idea With Video - Mon, Oct 16, 2017
  • Introduction to Connected Hardware - Wed, Oct 18, 2017
  • SPLUNK - Thu, Oct 19, 2017
  • Introduction to iOS - Mon, Oct 23, 2017
  • Text Analysis with Gensim - Wed, Oct 25, 2017
  • Ethical Hacking Workshop - Thu, Oct 26, 2017
  • Introduction to Connected Hardware: HackDuke Edition - Sat, Oct 28, 2017
  • Apache Spark for Beginners - Thu, Nov 2, 2017
  • WebDev - Introduction to HTML and CSS - Thu, Nov 2, 2017
  • Smart Home + Roots Course: Arduino Tutorial - Sat, Nov 4, 2017
  • Nvidia Deep Learning Symposium at Duke - Tue, Nov 7, 2017
  • Design Thinking - Wed, Nov 8, 2017
  • WebDev - Introduction to JavaScript - Thu, Nov 9, 2017
  • Smart Home + Roots Course: 3D Modeling - Sat, Nov 11, 2017
  • Intro to Git - Mon, Nov 13, 2017
  • Programming Fundamentals - Thu, Nov 16, 2017
  • Autodesk Fusion360: Session 1 - Fri, Nov 17, 2017
  • Autodesk Fusion360: Session 2 - Fri, Nov 17, 2017
  • Smart Home + Roots Course: Photoshop and Graphic Design Tutorial - Sat, Nov 18, 2017