Roots-logo

The Front Door to the Innovation Co-Lab.

We’re building a training program into the Innovation Co-Lab, where students, faculty or staff of any skill and confidence level can comfortably start to gain an understanding of how to make use of a variety of tools and technologies. The goal here is not to make you an expert - we know that takes time - but to help you get to the point where you're excited and confident about starting your own project or continuing your education. We'll be offering workshops in topics like HTML, CSS, Javascript, Python, Research Computing, 3d Modeling and Fabrication, and many more. All classes are free - just enroll below.

If you've got an idea for a topic we're not covering, or if you're an expert in a topic you'd like to teach, let us know.

Upcoming Classes

Gitlab-CI and Singularity -- Hands-on workshop for containerizing research software

Date:
  • Thu, Sep 7, 10:00 - 2:00 pm
Location:

Technology Engagement Center Classroom (Telcom Bldg, 1st Floor)

Facilitators:
  • James Newton
  • Mark McCahill
  • Andrew Ingham
  • Thomas Milledge
Course Description:

Lunch provided to registrants; there is no charge for the event.

Research software has become more complex, and more complexity has made sharing computing methods and results more challenging. This workshop provides researchers in the humanities, arts, and sciences an opportunity to become familiar with tools that are available on the Duke Compute Cluster and are in wide use in the research computing world. The workshop will introduce the tools and provide hands-on experience. Researchers with software they want to package -- or "containerize" -- for use on the cluster or elsewhere will be able to do so.

The four-hour workshop has two sessions, one before and the other after lunch, which will be provided to registrants by Duke Research Computing. The morning session introduces Gitlab-CI (https://about.gitlab.com/features/gitlab-ci-cd/) and Singularity (http://singularity.lbl.gov/) and tools that OIT programmers have built to automate the production of "cluster-ready" Singularity containers. The afternoon session is for participants to build their own containers, using both the automation and virtual machines with Singularity software. Participants can get help "containerizing" their own software package during the workshop.

Who should take part? Users of the Duke Compute Cluster; researchers who are using software with specific and perhaps exotic library dependencies; researchers who are using computers at other locations, including XSEDE supercomputers, Open Science Grid (OSG), or computers shared with colleagues at other institutions, researchers who want to increase the likelihood that their computational methods are transportable and reproducible. In short, just about everyone.

Pre-requisites: In order to make sure that all participants can benefit the most, people taking part should be familiar with using Git and have an account on Duke's internal Gitlab service (https://gitlab.oit.duke.edu/). Duke's Gitlab uses Shibboleth authentication and is freely available to anyone with a NetID. Comfort with the Linux command line is required. The class is open to all Duke students, staff, and faculty.

Enrollment:

7 / 25 Enrolled

Register for this class
Roots-studiosessions

Roots Studio Sessions

We also offer weekly classes in a few topics that we know are in high demand in the studio. These classes do not require registration, just show up! All Studio Sessions are held in the Co-Lab Studio in the Technology Engagement Center.

Our Studio Sessions will return in the spring!

3D Printer OS

  • Monday, 3:30pm
  • Wednesday, 3:30pm

3D Printer OS is our cloud printing service. In order to use our 3D printers, you'll have to get up to speed on this simple software. In this Studio Session, we'll go through all the required steps to make a 3d print from our fleet of printers. After the class, you'll also be able to send jobs right from your own laptop (anywhere on campus) and come pick up your print when it's done.

3D Modeling: Fusion360

  • Monday, 5pm

Fusion360 is a basic 3d modeling software that can be used for building things for 3d printing. In this short session, we'll go over some of the basic tools in order to get started building something. By the end, you'll have a simple object you can 3d print.

Laser Cutting & Etching

  • Wednesday, 5pm

In the studio we have two laser cutters that are capable of cutting and etching a variety of surfaces including wood, paper, leather, and more. It's a fantastic tool for anything from rapid prototyping to artistic endeavors.

Introduction to CNC

  • Tuesday, 3:30pm

For anyone interested in an introduction to CNC milling. Learn about our three CNC machines and how they can be used for your projects. Fusion 360 Roots course or similar experience recommended for Tormach Mill, no experience needed for Carvey or Shopbot CNC routers.



Quick Course List

Archived Classes

  • Introduction to Linux - Mon, Aug 31, 2015
  • Introduction to Front-End Web Development: HTML, CSS and a bit of Javascript - Mon, Sep 7, 2015
  • Good Karma through Web Accessibility - Thu, Sep 17, 2015
  • TypeScript - Mon, Sep 21, 2015
  • Digital Modeling and Fabrication: 3d Printers, Lasers, Shopbots! - Mon, Sep 28, 2015
  • Increase Coder Sanity by using Git for Version Control - Mon, Oct 5, 2015
  • Building iOS Apps with Swift - Sat, Oct 17, 2015
  • Using Online Data with Python - Mon, Oct 19, 2015
  • Introduction to Front-End Web Development: HTML, CSS and a bit of Javascript - Sat, Oct 24, 2015
  • Building iOS Apps with Swift - Tue, Oct 27, 2015
  • Introduction to Connected Hardware - Wed, Nov 4, 2015
  • Introduction to Connected Hardware - Thu, Nov 5, 2015
  • Webserver Administration for Webapp Developers - Mon, Nov 9, 2015
  • What You Don't Know Can Hurt You: UX Essentials for The Web - Mon, Nov 16, 2015
  • Introduction to Linux - Tue, Jan 26, 2016
  • Introduction to Front-End Dev: HTML & CSS - Wed, Jan 27, 2016
  • A Little More Advanced Linux - Mon, Feb 1, 2016
  • Ruby on Rails Workshop - Mon, Feb 1, 2016
  • Introduction to Front-End Dev: Javascript - Wed, Feb 3, 2016
  • Rapid Prototyping with Lasers and CNC - Thu, Feb 11, 2016
  • iOS 1: Intro to Swift and iOS Development - Thu, Feb 11, 2016
  • iOS 2: Data Processing in Swift - Thu, Feb 18, 2016
  • 3D Printing and Sketchup - Mon, Feb 22, 2016
  • Rapid Prototyping with Lasers and CNC - Wed, Feb 24, 2016
  • Using Git for Version Control - Wed, Feb 24, 2016
  • Python Workshop - Mon, Feb 29, 2016
  • Introduction to Connected Hardware with Photon - Mon, Mar 28, 2016
  • Introduction to Connected Hardware with Photon - Wed, Mar 30, 2016
  • iOS 1: Intro to Swift and iOS Development - Thu, Mar 31, 2016
  • iOS 2: Data Processing in Swift - Mon, Apr 4, 2016
  • Using Git for Version Control - Thu, Apr 7, 2016
  • 3D Printing and Sketchup - Mon, Apr 11, 2016
  • HFOSS: Code for Good - Wed, Sep 7, 2016
  • React - Mon, Sep 12, 2016
  • Intro to Git - Wed, Sep 14, 2016
  • Introduction to Linux - Tue, Sep 20, 2016
  • Open Data & Civic Hacking - Wed, Sep 21, 2016
  • A Little More Advanced Linux - Tue, Sep 27, 2016
  • Intro to APIs - Mon, Oct 3, 2016
  • Foundations in HTML, CSS, and Javascript: Flipped Roots Class - Tue, Oct 4, 2016
  • SPLUNK - Thu, Oct 13, 2016
  • Introduction to Ethical Hacking - Mon, Oct 17, 2016
  • MySQL - Mon, Oct 24, 2016
  • Intro to Angular 2 - Wed, Nov 2, 2016
  • Fusion 360 - Tue, Nov 8, 2016
  • Make Art with Lasers: Adobe Illustrator and Laser Cutting - Wed, Nov 9, 2016
  • Duke Compute Cluster workshop - Thu, Nov 10, 2016
  • Introduction to iOS - Thu, Nov 10, 2016
  • WebDev - Introduction to HTML and CSS - Mon, Nov 14, 2016
  • WebDev - Introduction to JavaScript - Mon, Nov 21, 2016
  • WebDev - Introduction to HTML and CSS - Wed, Jan 25, 2017
  • Get a Job in Tech - Fri, Jan 27, 2017
  • WebDev - Introduction to JavaScript - Wed, Feb 1, 2017
  • The Art of the Pitch Video - Fri, Feb 3, 2017
  • Programming Fundamentals - Mon, Feb 6, 2017
  • Intro to Git - Mon, Feb 13, 2017
  • Introduction to Linux - Tue, Feb 14, 2017
  • Using the Co-Lab APIs - Fri, Feb 17, 2017
  • Git to Deploy - Thu, Feb 23, 2017
  • Advanced CSS - Fri, Feb 24, 2017
  • Intro to Swift and iOS Development - Thu, Mar 2, 2017
  • Intro to APIs - Tue, Mar 21, 2017
  • WebDev - Introduction to HTML and CSS - Fri, Mar 24, 2017
  • A Little More Advanced Linux - Mon, Mar 27, 2017
  • Foundations in HTML, CSS, and Javascript: Flipped Roots Class - Tue, Mar 28, 2017
  • MPS Sessions: Intro to Maya - Tue, Mar 28, 2017
  • WebDev - Introduction to JavaScript - Wed, Mar 29, 2017
  • Building Reactive Web Apps - Thu, Mar 30, 2017
  • Ethical Hacking Workshop - Fri, Mar 31, 2017
  • Programming Fundamentals - Mon, Apr 3, 2017
  • Intro to Angular 2 - Tue, Apr 4, 2017
  • MPS Sessions: Intro to Davinci Resolve - Tue, Apr 4, 2017
  • MySQL - Wed, Apr 5, 2017
  • Conductive Thread - Fri, Apr 7, 2017
  • Introduction to Connected Hardware - Mon, Apr 10, 2017
  • Intro to Git - Mon, Apr 10, 2017
  • Test - HTML - Mon, May 22, 2017

Join the Innovation Co-Lab to find out more about what we're up to, what events we have coming up, and how to access all of our technical resources.

For best results, we recommend your duke.edu email address